Living Richly With WIC: Greek-Style Yogurt

“Living Richly With WIC” is a series of posts about how we use our WIC foods.  Since we’re not big milk drinkers, we have to be creative to use up gallons of milk.

Greek-style yogurt is one of my favorite things (along with raindrops on roses and whiskers on kittens).  But we don’t buy it often because it’s so expensive.  And even though the directions for it are right on page 182 of my Mediterranean cookbook, it didn’t occur to me that I could make this at home.

(See Homemade Yogurt for how we make yogurt at home.)

It is so rich and creamy that I had no idea it didn’t contain cream.  It is simply strained yogurt.

Yogurt, drained over fine-weave cloth, in a strainer, over a bowl, in the fridge, overnight.

My Mediterranean cookbook gives a more rustic approach — tie up the yogurt in cheesecloth and hang from a broomstick suspended between two chairs, with a bowl on the floor to catch the whey.  But my method works just fine.

I like this yogurt plain, but I also use it for ricotta cheesecake (recipe coming soon) and frozen yogurt.  Max eats frozen yogurt in his school lunch and as a snack after school.

For frozen yogurt, I strain 2 cups yogurt overnight, mix the strained yogurt with 1 cup regular yogurt (Max doesn’t like it too thick), and then add sweetener (he likes maple syrup and sugar) and sometimes blended fruit.  He likes it really smooth, so I use the hand blender to mix it well. Then we run it through our hand-cranked ice cream maker.  It’s super easy, fairly healthy, and really inexpensive.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

